Book Reevyou Ruff Draffed: Six Pixels of WHO GIVES A…

Lordy Lordy Lordy, I really didn’t dig this book. This wont be how I start my review, btw, just thought I’d give some “blog-gy” style exposition on this rough draft before posting some more boring bullets and notes.

This book is like, so bad, though.

I mean, not just in its content. Honestly, if I ever wanted to start a low-tier, soon-to-be-bankrupt online business this book may be of some value. Also, if you’re 100 years old and saying the word “blogger” is as silly as speaking Chinese to you..then maybe you will get some pleasure out of this read.

OH BUT NOT ME.

Am I allowed to say “douche-bag” on here? Cause THIS GUY looks like a total douche-bag, and while I shouldnt judge a person (OR BOOK) by its cover, I can instantly tell, MERELY BY THE FACT THAT ON SOME LEVEL HE THOUGHT THIS PHOTO WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA, that he and I are on COMPLETELY separate wavelengths.

But blah blah, I’m sure he’s really nice and the photo was his agent’s idea or something yeah yeah. But still, very disheartening.

I want to talk about a book by Pierre Bayard called “How to talk about books you havent read.” It is a KILLAH book, and really changed my entire perspective on reading, knowledge, language, life, love, sex, death, rock & roll and so on. I think his theories, although not discussed in our class, are extremely relevant and intellectual when doing an actual book review. Here’s a snippet of what he has to say, or…er…how I am going to say what he says:

In college I read a book called “How to Talk About Books You Haven’t Read” by Pierre Bayard, in which he dissects the process of reading and tries to figure out what it truly means to read in the context of culture and the human experience. He argues that reading is not just acquiring knowledge or acquainting oneself with a text, but rather it is the inevitable process of forgetting. “If after being read a book immediately begins to disappear from consciousness, to the point where it becomes impossible to remember whether we have read it, the very notion of reading loses its relevance since any book, read or unread, will end up the equivalent of any other.” Taking Bayard’s theory into consideration, it seems like books really don’t matter if you eventually forget every last shred of their content. So, does it matter if what we read is fact or fiction if eventually we’re going to forget all about it? Is there ever a reason to tell the truth in writing if your words will only live in someone’s consciousness for a fleeting moment in time and then be forgotten?

As someone who considers himself pseudo-intellectual, this idea really gets my brain all in a frenzy and I think, conceptually, it has a place in any writing about a text.

As far as class readings are concerned, I think Liu’s take on taste performances and the type of statements we make is a great understanding of the cultural behavior. It doesnt REALLY relate to our book a lot, but I want to play up the subtle connections between theory and “practice” (but this book isnt really “practice”…really).

I also think some SMALL case-studies of brands that use social media well (like we did in class) would be nice to compare to the book and see what advice the book gives that they AREN’T using. (for the lolz!)

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

